Cumberland Old Town District
Old Town Cumberland boasts widely spaced houses from the 19th and 20th Centuries with a collection of Folk Victorian, Craftsman Bungalow, and American Four Square styles. There are still numerous barns, summer kitchens, and other early storage buildings found just a block off of Washington Street (National Road).
Cumberland has maintained its small town charm over the years and breeds energy and excitement with revitalization works. These residences are within walking distance of the Cumberland Pennsy Trail, shopping, dining, and other service destinations.
The boundaries of Cumberland Old Town District are: by the Meijer Store on the west, Carroll Road (Marion County line) to the east, Welland Street on the north and Warehouse Road on the south.
Cumberland was established along the Historic National Road in 1831. The Town was named after Cumberland, Maryland, where the Historic National Road began. Cumberland has deep transportation roots. Ten miles from downtown Indianapolis, Cumberland was a stopover for travelers. The small town prospered with the improved access brought by transportation enhancements like the National Road, Pennsylvania Railroad, and the interurban line.
- Cumberland Historic District - National Register of Historic Places 2001
- Cumberland Conservation District - Indianapolis Historic Preservation 2005
Entryways and Landmarks
- St. John UCC 11000 E. Washington St.,
- Cumberland First Baptist Church 116 S. Muessing
- Wayburn Pocket Park - approx. 11850 E. Washington Street at Wayburn Street on the south side,
- Cumberland Pennsy Trail- south border of district along Warehouse Street, and
- 11800 - 12035 E. Washington St. between Muessing and Carroll Rd.